South Texas Honors Its Best at Summer GBM

The STYSA 2012 Summer Governing Board Meeting general session wrapped up two days of meetings, workshops, coaching demonstrations, and vendor exhibits that was highlighted by the Annual Awards luncheon. Nestled in between a day-long series of workshops and visits to the vendors in the Soccer Expo, the delegates took time at the Annual Awards Luncheon to recognize the hard work and dedication of the people that make South Texas Youth Soccer tick.

Christina Fowler and Nicolas Diaz were selected as Youth Referees of the Year by their peers; Zack Jones was selected Scholar Athlete of the Year; and Heath Bishoff and Francisco Campos were named Coaches of the Year. Please join me in congratulating them for their efforts in advancing youth soccer in South Texas!

On Sunday, the 80-Member Association delegates present began the meeting by approving the minutes of the Executive Committee meetings and the 2012 Winter Governing Board meeting and voting to return Big Bend Youth Soccer Association back to active status and good standing.

The delegates then turned their attention to voting on the merit of the single proposed rule change that was submitted and chose to not approve the proposed change.

Be sure to check the calendar at for the dates and location of this year's Winter Governing Board Meeting, held each February!

TOP | Back to Newsletter